Tags

, ,

~ the horns have echoed into the distance while the November sun peaks through the skeletal trees ~

we are happy to announce that Rosie Banks has won first place in our Samhain Wild Hunt!  You can see what her camera has captured below; the seashell offerings on the gravestones are truly beautiful!

rosie_wildhunt3

rosie_wildhunt2

rosie_wildhunt

Samhain, in the past few years, has been about maintaining personal traditions for Halloween while struggling to start new ones. Every October, approaching Samhain, I find myself reciting “Little Orphan Annie” by James Whitcomb Riley.  I buy enough candy corn to court an epic sugar high and indulge.  My oldest brother and I discuss and decide whether or not to make the effort to find a reasonably priced haunted house to visit; sometimes we do and sometimes we don’t.  Yet, I’ve also been trying and failing to play the adult.  I buy candy for young trick-or-treaters weeks in advance, and I imagine myself doling it out with a smile.  However, in the past few years, I’ve only been home on Samhain once. (And, yes, playing the adult was fun.)  Usually, I’m at work on the actual day and horrified by how often I stay late to complete projects.  We will see what this sabbat brings.

Rosie has won a custom leather-bound journal perfect to use as a Book of Shadows; due to circumstances beyond our control, we will not be bestowing a second or third place winner

 

